About the sentence “One picture says more than a thousand words”…

Caes em contraluz - Version 2

The idea of writing something about that sentence came just after having found this photo when searching inside my not so well organized files.

All along these many years shooting photos, or drawing, or painting, I’ve never decided myself to talk much about. Just let people look at them, keeping my silence and accumulating work, the most of it never showed.

But now I started to feel different.

Finding that image I really felt, even if you can like it in a first approach, that it would be totally different if I explained the circumstances and the project behind.

It was at this precise moment that, again, “the sentence” came to my mind, as also the one about “the decisive moment” from Cartier Bresson. I let that for another occasion.

What I want to transmit today, illustrated by this photo, is the idea that we should never be “fundamentalist” about nothing, that there are no absolute truth, that all rules should be disobeyed one day for achieving something where the rules does not make sense, that finally, our minds and our feelings should be our masters, after learning and listening from all the possible sides of knowledge.

Coming back to the today’s picture.

I produced this image for a project, that I never really finished, about dogs for blind people, in the specialized training school Associação Beira Aguieira de Apoio ao Deficiente Visual, in Mortágua – Portugal.

It was not a commission, just one more project I decided , and, I love dogs.

Now, some years passed, looking again to the images stored in my computer and seeing this one I felt, that, if I had to choose one as the “iconic” to represent the project, it would be that one.

Why? – Just because it’s “out of focus”!…

Being out of focus the image transmits, probably, what someone approaching blindness still sees before the total darkness.

Simple.

But, if I had not give this explanation, probably you would have see the photo with different interpretations and less emotive power. Now I focused you on it and the circumstances.

Sometimes we really need to talk about what we produced, other times not. Keep the silence.

No definitive rules!…

PS – After searching a bit in the Internet I discovered that the original sentence is from CONFUCIO!…Geting old!…

 

6 thoughts on “About the sentence “One picture says more than a thousand words”…

  1. Thank you so much for sharing such a touching post and amazing photo!
    You have so many great ideas and magnificent photos!
    Love the idea that the most important rule is that there are no rules, it is such a liberating feeling but also a great responsability.
    Cannot take my eyes way from that pic!
    Cheers!!!

  2. This design is steller! You certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you
    presented it. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

